North Carolina Colony on American History Central


North Carolina was one of the 13 Original Colonies that declared independence from Great Britain in July 1776, establishing the United States of America.

In 1663, King Charles II granted a charter to eight men, known as the Lords Proprietors, paving the way for English colonization of the territory south of Virginia. The Proprietors promised political freedom and religious freedom to immigrants and also encouraged settlement with the Headright System. However, the natural terrain divided Carolina into two distinct regions, and it was officially divided in 1712. 

By 1719, people living in South Carolina felt the Proprietors were not doing enough to protect them from pirates and Indians. As British subjects, the people sought protection from the Crown. The Crown agreed and Sir Francis Nicholson was appointed as the first Royal Governor of South Carolina.

After South Carolina became a Royal Colony, the Crown worked to buy the rights to the Carolinas from the families of each of the original Lords Proprietors. By 1729, King George II had purchased nearly all the rights and both colonies became Royal Colonies, under Crown control. The only family that retained its rights was that of George Carteret.  North Carolina had a significant agricultural industry with Tobacco, Rice, Indigo, and livestock.

Essential Facts

  • Year Founded — 1663 (as Carolina)
  • Founded By — Lords Proprietors (8 allies of King Charles II)
  • General Assembly Established — 1729
  • Region Southern Colonies
  • Part of — Restoration Colonies

Key People


Citation Information

The following information is provided for citations, including APA Style, Chicago Style, and MLA Style.

  • Article Title North Carolina Colony on American History Central
  • Date 1663–1776
  • Author
  • Keywords North Carolina Colony Guide
  • Website Name American History Central
  • Access Date July 22, 2024
  • Publisher R.Squared Communications, LLC
  • Original Published Date
  • Date of Last Update June 24, 2024