Rhode Island Colony on American History Central


Rhode Island was one of the 13 Original Colonies that declared independence from Great Britain in July 1776, establishing the United States of America.

Rhode Island started in 1636 when Roger Williams purchased land from the Narragansett Indians and established a settlement, which he called Providence Plantations, on the east bank of the Moshassuck River, on Narragansett Bay. Williams was a Separatist minister, who was banished from Massachusetts in 1635 for his religious beliefs and criticism of Puritan leaders and the King. Two years later, another group of Massachusetts dissidents, led by Anne Hutchinson, founded Portsmouth.

Essential Facts

  • Year Founded — 1636
  • Founded By — Roger Williams
  • General Assembly Established — 1647
  • Region New England Colonies

Primary Documents

Key People


Citation Information

The following information is provided for citations, including APA Style, Chicago Style, and MLA Style.

  • Article Title Rhode Island Colony on American History Central
  • Date 1636–1776
  • Author
  • Keywords Rhode Island Colony Guide
  • Website Name American History Central
  • Access Date July 22, 2024
  • Publisher R.Squared Communications, LLC
  • Original Published Date
  • Date of Last Update June 24, 2024