South Carolina Colony on American History Central


South Carolina was one of the 13 Original Colonies that declared independence from Great Britain in July 1776, establishing the United States of America.

In 1663, King Charles II granted a charter to eight men, known as the Lords Proprietors, paving the way for English colonization of the territory south of Virginia. The Proprietors promised political freedom and religious freedom to immigrants and also encouraged settlement with the Headright System. However, the natural terrain divided Carolina into two distinct regions, and it was officially divided in 1712. 

By 1719, people living in South Carolina felt the Proprietors were not doing enough to protect them from pirates and Indians. As British subjects, the people sought protection from the Crown. The Crown agreed and Sir Francis Nicholson was appointed as the first Royal Governor of South Carolina. South Carolina focused on rice, Cotton, Tobacco, and Indigo plantations.

Essential Facts

  • Year Founded — 1663 (as Carolina)
  • Founded By — Lords Proprietors
  • General Assembly Established — 1719
  • Region Southern Colonies
  • Part of — Restoration Colonies

Primary Documents

Key People


Citation Information

The following information is provided for citations, including APA Style, Chicago Style, and MLA Style.

  • Article Title South Carolina Colony on American History Central
  • Date 1663–1776
  • Author
  • Keywords South Carolina Colony Guide
  • Website Name American History Central
  • Access Date July 22, 2024
  • Publisher R.Squared Communications, LLC
  • Original Published Date
  • Date of Last Update June 24, 2024