Portrait of King George III by Allan Ramsay.

King George III issued the Proclamation of 1763, on October 7th, 1763.

The Proclamation of 1763 Quick Facts

October 7, 1763

Quick Facts About The Proclamation of 1763

King George III issued the Proclamation of 1763, on October 7th, reserving the lands west of the Appalachians for the native inhabitants and forbidding colonists from settling in the area.

Groups who opposed the Proclamation of 1763 included, colonists who fought in the French and Indian War, colonies whose charters granted them land from sea to sea, colonists who were eager to settle the Ohio Country, land speculators in the colonies and in Britain who hoped to profit from the sale of Indian lands.

The Proclamation of 1763 created four new territories that were open to settlement: Quebec, East Florida, West Florida, and Grenada.

The Proclamation of 1763 required squatters living west of the proclamation line to return to the east.

The Proclamation of 1763 prohibited colonists from purchasing land from American Indians.

The Proclamation of 1763 limited trade with American Indians to licensed traders.

Citation Information

The following information is provided for citations.

  • Article Title The Proclamation of 1763 Quick Facts
  • Coverage October 7, 1763
  • Author
  • Keywords proclamation of 1763
  • Website Name American History Central
  • URL
  • Access Date March 29, 2020
  • Publisher R.Squared Communications, LLC
  • Original Published Date
  • Date of Last Update February 2, 2019

Study Guides for the 2020 AP Exam

Get the study guides for history and U.S. politics from Amazon.com and get ready for your 2020 AP exams!

By signing up for this email, you are agreeing to receive news, offers, updates, and additional information from R.Squared Communications, LLC and American History Central. Easy unsubscribe links are included in every email.